June 13, 2024

Trey Hendrickson’s 39.5 total sacks since signing the Bengals as an unrestricted free agency in 2021 rank fifth in the NFL.

The Cincinnati Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America has named Trey Hendrickson the 2023 Cincinnati Bengals MVP.

Having received the most votes from the local chapter, Hendrickson—who was just named to his third career Pro Bowl—won the prize. Since DT Geno Atkins was voted the Bengals’ MVP in 2017, he becomes the first defensive lineman to hold that title. This season, WR Ja’Marr Chase was one of the finalists for the award.

Trey Hendrickson

According to chapter vice president Mike Petraglia, “Trey Hendrickson proved his immense value to the Bengals defense as one of the most dependable and dominant pass rushers in the NFL.” “Despite frequently being the target of double teams and cunning to account for his explosiveness off the edge, he recorded a career high in sacks.”

After a career-high 17.5 sacks in 2023, Hendrickson—a seventh-year player out of Florida Atlantic University—tied for second place in the NFL. It was also the second-most sacks in a season in team history, behind DE Coy Bacon’s 22.0 in 1976. In addition to recording a career-high 742 defensive snaps, he also added three passes defensed and three forced fumbles.

Hendrickson’s 39.5 total sacks since joining the Bengals as an unrestricted free agent in 2021 rank fifth in the NFL. He joins Atkins (eight) as the only defensive lineman in franchise history to be selected to at least three Pro Bowls.

QB Jon Kitna (2002–03), HB Rudi Johnson (’04), QB Carson Palmer (’05), OT Willie Anderson (’06), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh (’07–08), CBs Leon Hall and Johnathan Joseph (’09), OT Andrew Whitworth (’10), QB Andy Dalton (’11 and ’15), DT Geno Atkins (’12 and ’17), LB Vontaze Burfict (’13), HB Jeremy Hill (’14), WR A.J. Green (’16), HB Joe Mixon (’18), WR Tyler Boyd (’19), S Jessie Bates III (’20) and QB Joe Burrow (’21, ’22).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *