June 19, 2024

Overreactions from Steelers Nation: Arthur Smith hired as new offensive coordinator - Steel City UndergroundThe NFL Honors event for 2023–24 is scheduled for this week, a few days before Super Bowl 58. The focus of Steelers supporters will surely be on standout edge rusher T.J. Watt this season, since he was named a finalist for the AP Defensive Player of the Year award, which will probably come down to a close contest between him and Myles Garrett, the team’s rival in the AFC North. But he’s not the only one attending this year’s event to observe.

Here are the four Steelers that should be on your radar as possible winners of awards at the NFL Honors this year. Watch on CBS or NFL Network on Thursday, February 8 at 9 p.m. ET.

T.J. Watt, an edge rusher for the Pittsburgh Steelers, had a spectacular season in 2023. With 19 sacks overall, he became the first player in NFL history to lead the league in sacks in three different seasons since the stat was first recorded back in 1982. Even though Watt has surpassed Garrett in sacks, tackles for a loss, quarterback hits, tackles, passes defended, interceptions, and fumble recoveries, among other categories, Garrett is still probably the AFC North rival’s closest contender for the honor at this moment.

Every NFL team submits a nomination for Walter Payton Man of the Year each year to recognize individuals around the league who have excelled both on and off the field and who have supported charity causes in their communities. Cam Heyward, a defensive end for the Pittsburgh Steelers, received his sixth nomination for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award this year.

Heyward has made numerous and diverse contributions to the Pittsburgh community. These include volunteering at the Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh, organizing the Sacking Childhood Hunger campaign, and running Craig’s Closet, which gives local high school boys clothes for interviews and internships. All of these initiatives support the youth of the community. Joey Porter Jr., a rookie cornerback for the Steelers, wasn’t given a full-time defensive job until Week 8. But after he established himself in the starting lineup, it was evident that he had a very bright future ahead of him and great potential to be one of the league’s top lockdown corners. Porter Jr. led the group of the nine rookies who played 300 or more snaps in coverage with an EPA of -0.28.

Despite fierce competition, Porter Jr. is unlikely to win the honor, but overall, his first season was a huge success in most areas. Along with Rams DT Kobie Turner, Seahawks CB Devon Witherspoon, Eagles DT Jalen Carter, and Texans DE Will Anderson Jr., he was named a finalist for the honor.

RB Najee Harris wins the year’s Angry Run.
While not an official NFL award, the Angry Run of the Year is an NFL Network special that honors some of the most impressive, fiercest, and powerful plays made while crushing opponents through contact in the run game (or after the catch). It’s relatively new, and it’s incredibly entertaining.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *